Man City stroll past Arsenal to win Carabao Cup

Manchester City claimed their first trophy under Pep Guardiola as they swept aside Arsenal 3-0 in the Carabao Cup final at Wembley.

By SportBrief Reporter

The Citizens won their first piece of silverware under the Guardiola regime as they made short work of their North-London opponents Arsenal by thrashing them 3-0.

Sergio Aguero took advantage of some poor Shkodran Mustafi defending to latch on to Claudio Bravo’s goal-kick and lob David Ospina for the opener in the first half.

After the break, captain Vincent Kompany then diverted home Ilkay Gundogan’s shot to double their lead.

With the writing on the wall for the Premier League champions-elect, David Silva added the third when he smashed home from Danilo’s pass.

The Gunners offered little going forward and were as poor as the score-line suggests with their best chance coming when it was still at 0-0 but Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang’s close-range effort was saved by Bravo.

The League Cup remains the only domestic trophy Arsene Wenger has not won at Arsenal, losing in the final for the third time in his 21-year reign.

Guardiola, whose side are 13 points clear at the top of the Premier League, again wore the yellow ribbon to support jailed Catalan politicians, a move which may very well land him in trouble with the Football Association.

In his second season at City, he can now add the League Cup to the 21 trophies he won as boss of Barcelona and Bayern Munich.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *