telecel dstv AD

Liverpool boss fumes after Harry Kane penalty in Tottenham draw

An irate Jurgen Klopp claimed he would have to “pay the biggest fine in world football” if he vented his true feelings about Harry Kane’s stoppage-time penalty that earned Tottenham a draw at Anfield.

By SportBrief Reporter

It was a match of high-quality between Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspurs swathed with positive intent and a draw was a fair outcome – although Klopp’s dark mood suggested he would be very happy to have a long debate on that point.

Kane – who had a penalty saved by Liverpool goalkeeper Loris Karius minutes earlier – secured Spurs a point from a 2-2 draw after referee Jon Moss contentiously punished Virgil van Dijk’s challenge on substitute Erik Lamela with seconds remaining.

The results suits Spurs more than Liverpool because in the final reckoning the late action in front of the Kop ensured they did not fall further adrift of Liverpool.

Klopp was angry at what he saw as the unjust loss of two points, after Mohamed Salah’s brilliant injury-time solo goal looked to have given the Reds a win that would have taken them five points clear of Spurs.

“There were some real challenges in the first half, lots of moments when it could have been a free-kick but the referee said ‘today that’s the game, that’s allowed’ and then the softest touch in the whole game decides the game,” he said.

“It is not a penalty, it is a situation. I am angry but I can’t change things so what’s my job? To create headlines? To get punished? To pay a fine? If I said what I think I would pay the biggest fine in world football. That makes absolutely no sense.”

Liverpool were also angry at the first penalty award, when Kane was brought down by goalkeeper Karius, with referee Moss ruling Dejan Lovren’s touch had played the striker onside in the build-up.

“I think it is a dive. You see him diving clearly and no-one is talking about it but I think it is a dive,” said the Dutchman.

“There is a lot of discussion about whether it is offside, yes or no, but I think it was offside as well. You could just see him making that dive. The referee made his decision together with the linesman. It was good for us that it got saved.”

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *