telecel dstv AD

Fans Blast 2017 Soccer Star of the Year Winner


Football fans around the country have expressed their disappointment on the final winner of the 2017 Premier Soccer League Awards.

By Tongai Mwenje

The PSL in collaboration with the league’s principal sponsors, Delta Beverages last Friday conducted the 2017 Premier Soccer League Awards which saw FC Platinum midfielder Rodwell Chinyengetere pipping fans’ preferred winner Ocean Mushure.

The fans vented their displeasure via ZBCs weekly sports show, the Game Plan.

Charles Mabika, who dribbles the weekly show attended to several callers who spoke with one voice, agreeing to the fact that Dynamos skipper was robbed.

“Mushure deserved that accolade and that’s a daylight robbery,” one caller commented.

Of interest was one caller who said is no a soccer follower but because of the massive coverage on Mushure’s performance on various media houses leaves him with no option but to say he deserved the prestigious gong.

With his vast experience in the local football, Herald’s Senior sports editor Robson Sharuko concurred with the pro Mushure group.

“What’s important for the selectors is for them to consider the full length of the season. I have seen a tendency whereby our guys doing the selection they get too excited by what happens at the last half of the season,” said Robson.

“So I’m saying Rodwell Chinyengetere he played well make no mistake about it, he deserves his place among the best 11, but for me, he was not the most outstanding player throughout the season.”

Robson seems to have a point though, with statistics favouring his side of the argument. This season alone, Ocean Mushure and Kelvin Moyo, the first runner-up, won more man of the match awards than Rodwell Chinyengetere.

Here are a few pointers in regards to how the selection process is carried out. Only the premier league games are considered for the awards with the selection panel consisting of 35 sports journalists, as well as coaches and captains from the 18 premier league teams.

Players must have featured in 10 or more games in order to be eligible for selection with the panellists voting in two rounds. In the first round of the process, the panellist votes for all the 11 players and they vote in no certain order.

Then, in the second round, they only vote for three players that is number 1, 2 and 3. Number 1 carries 5 points, number 2 has 2 and number 3 carries 1 point. This system is actually in adherence to the international standards as it is the same system that is used at the FIFA Balon d’Or awards.

Therefore, with the substantive grievances being aired by the public in regards to the winner of the award, perhaps it may be safe to say that the perceived problem would lie in the panel of selectors seeing as how they are the ones who played a bigger role in coming up with the award winner.

Whether we will see a change in the system after the uproar remains to be seen but one thing for sure is that this year’s Soccer Star of the Year awards was definitely not without controversy.

Tongai Mwenje

Tongai Mwenje is a Senior Editor with Zimbabwe's largest online sports magazine Sportbrief He has been writing professionally since 2012 and currently writes for technology and sport blogs. He has vast experience in digital marketing, sports reporting and analysis. He is also a Sports and Technology columnist with Financial Gazette Online Sports Column and Technology Magazine respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *