telecel dstv AD

All set for Annual Sport Awards Tonight


The Annual Sport Awards 2017 Winners will be revealed at the Rainbow Towers Hotel on Wednesday evening.

By Tongai Mwenje

Sport fanatics are keen to know who will take over from Charles Manyuchi who was named 2016 Sports Person of the Year. The likely winner is karateka Samson Muripo who has made so much noise at international level after scooping several accolades.

Tanyaradzwa Muzinda of Motocross, Holly Bicknell with Rowing  and golfer  Emily Tariro Jones will battle it out for the Junior Sports Woman of the Year.

Junior Sports Man of the Year will have Mehluli Don Sibanda, Chengetayi Mapaya and Terence Liam O’Hara representing tennis, athletics and swimming respectively

Zimbabwe Rugby Sevens (Cheetahs)Zimbabwe Cricket Team(Chevrons)- Cricket and Kenneth Raynor & Keegan Smith (Rowing) will wrestle for the Team of the Year award.

The awards hosted by Sport and Recreation Commission are  aimed at providing a unique opportunity for the sports constituency, to motivate National Sport Associations, team’s sports and individual athletes by recognizing and celebrating meritorious service and outstanding achievements in sport.

The objectives of ANSA is to recognize, reward and celebrate the country’s sportspersons for iconic and meritorious service in sports.

SportBrief will be giving you live updates of the event.

And the Winner is…

Tongai Mwenje

Tongai Mwenje is a Senior Editor with Zimbabwe's largest online sports magazine Sportbrief He has been writing professionally since 2012 and currently writes for technology and sport blogs. He has vast experience in digital marketing, sports reporting and analysis. He is also a Sports and Technology columnist with Financial Gazette Online Sports Column and Technology Magazine respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *