2017 Annual National Sport Awards Winners Announced

The Ministry of Sports, Arts and Recreation through its sport arm, Sports and Recreation Commission announced the 2017 Annual National Sports Awards (ANSA) Winners at a dinner held at the Harare International Conference Centre on Wednesday.

By SportBrief Reporter 

The annual awards which are aimed at recognizing and celebrating the highest sports accomplishments by local athletes, administrators and technical officials saw more than 52 winners walking away with price money,certificates and trophies.

The biggest winner of the night was Samson Muripo who walked away with the Sportsman of the Year and Sports person of the Year Awards.

Muripo, a karateka, clinched gold at the Third International So-Kyokushin Karate tournament senior men open weight early this year, in Iran. He then came second in the Under-90kg weight division and third in the kata competition at the same event. And that has given him an edge over his Sports person of the Year competitor  ,Sinclair. The body builder Sinclair scooped the 2017 Sportswoman of the Year award.

Sinclair was on top of her game as she underlined her status as a top female body-builder when she claimed pole position in the Arnold Classic Africa Women Body Fitness (Under 163cm) category in May.


Here is the full list of Winners 

  1. Junior Sports Woman of the Year
    Position 1 Tanyaradzwa Muzinda              – Motocross (WINNER)
    Position 2 Holly Bicknell                               -Rowing
    Position 3 Emily Tariro Jones                       – Golf
  1. Junior Sports Man of the Year
    Position 1 Mehluli Don Sibanda                 – Tennis (WINNER)
    Position 2 Chengetayi Mapaya                     – Athletics
    Position 3 Terence Liam O’Hara                  – Swimming
  1. Junior Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability
    Position 1 Siphosami Moyo                        – Athletics T11 (WINNER
    Position 2 Pelagia Chidhakwa                      – Athletics IC
    Position 3 Elizabeth Matupe              – Athletics T12
  1. Junior Sports Man of the Year with a Disability
    Position 1  Edmore Solomon                      – Athletics T46 (WINNER)
    Position 2 Raymond Nyati                            – Athletics T11
    Position 3 Munorwei  Chakanyuka               – Athletics T12
  1. Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability
    Position 1 Margaret Bangajena                     – Wheelchair Racing (WINNER)
    Position 2 Thandiwe Ndlovu                         – Wheelchair Racing
    Position 3 Ratidzo Tomu                               – Wheelchair Racing
  1. Sports Man of the Year with a Disability
    Position 1 Elford Moyo                                            – Wheelchair Racing (WINNER)
    Position 2 Samson Muroyiwa                                   – Wheelchair Racing
    Position 3 Michael Mudyanadzo                               – Golf Special Olympics
  1. Sports Woman of the Year
    Position 1 Helen Costa Sinclair                              – Bodybuilding (WINNER)
    Position 2 Rutendo Nyahora                                     – Athletics
    Position 3 Selina Manuel                                           – Bodybuilding
  1. Sports Man of the Year
    Position 1 Samson Muripo                                      – Karate (WINNER)
    Position 2 Brian Chiringa                                           – Karate
    Position 3 Nyasha Machaza                                     – Golf
  1. Team of the Year
    Position 1 Zimbabwe Rugby Sevens (Cheetahs)- Rugby (WINNER)
    Position 2  Zimbabwe Cricket Team(Chevrons)- Cricket
    Position 3 Kenneth Raynor & Keegan Smith-          Rowing
  1. Coach of the Year
    Position 1 Gilbert Nyamutsamba –                         Rugby (WINNER)
    Position 2 Heath Hilton Streak-                                 Cricket
    Position 3 Kristine Johnson                                       Rowing
  1. Technical Official of the Year
    Position 1 Annie Joyce Muchenu-                          Basketball (WINNER)
    Position 2  Patrick Mukondiwa-                                Boxing
    Position 3 Agnes Chiroodza                                      Netball
  1. Sports Administration of the Year
    Position 1 Zimbabwe Aquatic Union  (WINNER)                         –
    Position 2   Zimbabwe Motorsport Federation
    Position 3 Rowing Association of Zimbabwe
  1. Sports Development of the Year
    Position 1 Zimbabwe Karate Union (WINNER)
    Postion 2 Zimbabwe Ladies Golf
    Position 3 Equestrian Zimbabwe 
  1. Women and Sports Award
    Position 1 Lorna Margaret Riley – Winner From Swimming (WINNER)
    Position2 Leticia Chipandu
    Postion3 Rosemary Mugadza
  1. Special Acknowledgement award
    Prophet Walter Magaya
    Mashonaland West Province

Good Governance Acknowledgement (WINNERS)
Rowing Association of Zimbabwe
Triathlon Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe Archery Association
Zimbabwe Equestrian Federation
Zimbabwe Ladies Golf Union
Zimbabwe Karate Union
Zimbabwe Motor Sports Federation
Zimbabwe Olympic Committee
Zimbabwe Aquatic Union

  1. Junior Sports Person of the Year
    Mehluli Don Sibanda- Tennis
  1. Sports Person of the year
    Samson Muripo- Karate

Tongai Mwenje

Tongai Mwenje is a Senior Editor with Zimbabwe's largest online sports magazine Sportbrief He has been writing professionally since 2012 and currently writes for technology and sport blogs. He has vast experience in digital marketing, sports reporting and analysis. He is also a Sports and Technology columnist with Financial Gazette Online Sports Column and Technology Magazine respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *