Chiyangwa Attends The FIFA Best Awards

Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) and Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) President, Dr Phillip Chiyangwa on Monday night attended the prestigious global awards, FIFA Best Awards held in London.

By Tongai Mwenje

Dr Phillip Chiyangwa attended the annual global ceremony at the invitation of the world football motherboard, FIFA.

The Best FIFA Football Awards is an association award presented annually by the sport’s governing body, FIFA since 2016.

Speaking to Sportbrief after the Award ceremony, Chiyangwa who has been attending FIFA Best Awards since its inception said its a refreshing extravaganza handled by very experienced personnel.

“Well everything is handled by very experienced people. And I have been a regular attendant , once it starts it ushers an aura of extremely refreshing extravaganza, ” he said.

The first award ceremony was held on the 9th January 2017 in Zurich, Switzerland.

The award is aimed at reviving the FIFA World Player of the Year, which was merged with France Football ‘s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or in a six-year partnership.

Meanwhile, Real Madrid star, Cristiano Ronaldo scooped the the FIFA Best Player of the Year for the second year running.

The Portuguese superstar enjoyed yet another terrific season where he was integral in ensuring Real Madrid won the Champions League for two successive years.

He was also brilliant for Portugal in the Confederations Cup too.

The award was presented by two of the greatest names in football – Diego Maradona and former Brazilian striker Ronaldo.

Also in contention were Lionel Messi and Neymar, who were acknowledged by CR7 in his winning speech.

Legendary Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon scooped the Best Goalkeeper of the Year.

He was exemplary in Juventus’ run to the final of the Champions League, one major trophy he has not won in his career.

Buffon pipped Keylor Navas of Real Madrid and Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich.

Arsenal and French star, Olivier Giroud won the Puskas Award for his sensational scorpion kick against Crystal Palace last season.

Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane was named the FIFA Best Coach of the Year after his exploits with the Los Blancos where he led them to back-to-back Champions League titles, an unprecedented feat.

Also in contention were Antonio Conte of Chelsea and Massimiliano Allegri of Juventus.

Africa was represented by Togolese striker Francis Kone who scooped FIFA Fair play.

Kone performed an emergency life-saving first aid on a goalkeeper after he collided with him and realised that his breathing pipe was blocked during a Czech domestic game.

Also, Netherlands Women’s coach Sarina Wiegman was been named the FIFA Womens’ coach of the Year for leading the Dutch team to Euro 2017 title.

Celtic FC fans were awarded the FIFA Fan award for a stunning 360-degree display around the stadium in honour of the first Celtic team to have conquered Europe 50 years ago.

The Editor

Sportbrief, The Home Of Exclusive Sport For Feedback, send your an email to:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *