Chevrons set for 3-match ODI series with Netherlands

The Zimbabwe national cricket team is set to host the Netherlands in a three-match one-day international (ODI) series scheduled to be played at Harare Sports Club starting tomorrow.

By SportBrief Reporter

The Chevrons are set to square off against the Netherlands in an un-official three match ODI series which kicks off at the Harare Sports Club tomorrow.

And the selectors have named their squad for the series with perhaps a big surprise being the exclusion of veteran captain Brendan Taylor, who recently returned from playing county cricket in England.

Zimbabwe have named an almost identical squad to the one that toured the Netherlands and emerged 2-1 winners in June this year, with only one new addition in the form of Regis Chakabva.

The match will be unofficial as the fact that the Netherlands do not have ODI status means it will be unrecognized by the ICC which will certainly be a bit of a buzz kill for local fans hoping to see the Chevrons gain a few points on the grid with a win.

Nevertheless, Zimbabwe head coach, Heath Streak still claims that he will place great value in the series and will setup his men with an intention to win.

“It’s not an official ODI series, but we will not take the Dutch lightly. We will try to win every game, but what’s important is that we will give our guys time in the middle ahead of tougher assignments,” he said.

“These are 50-overs matches, they will give us good practice as we are gearing our preparations towards the Test series at home to the West Indies next month.”

There are no places for former skipper and all-rounder, Elton Chigumbura and seamer, Tinashe Panyangara, who have been asked to prove themselves in the domestic leagues.

Zimbabwe will surely head into the encounter on a high, after they claimed an unexpected ODI series win over hosts Sri Lanka.


Zimbabwe squad to face Netherlands:

Graeme Cremer (captain), Regis Chakabva, Peter Moor, Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Christopher Mpofu, Richard Ngarava, Tarisai Musakanda, Ryan Burl, Malcolm Waller, Tendai Chatara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *