CAF Votes Revealed: See Who Voted for Hayatou and Ahmad

Madagascar football association president, Ahmad Ahmad was recently elected the new Confederation of African Football boss, deposing a long-term fixture from both FIFA and CAF’s executive committee in the form of Issa Hayatou of Cameroon.  

By Tongai Mwenje 

Hayatou, a former teacher and sports minister from Cameroon who was first elected as the Caf president in 1988 and became a member of the Fifa executive committee two years later, lost decisively in the vote at Caf’s congress in Addis Ababa on the 16th of March 2017, 34-20 to Ahmad Ahmad, the president of the Madagascar Football Association.

The winner was decided by votes from 54 CAF member presidents and here is the outcome of the election.

Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin Republic) Sidiki A Roko (Cameroon) Victor Osorio (Cape Verde) Andres-Jorge Mbomio (Equatorial Guinea) Pierre Alain Mounguengui (Gabon) Lamin Kaba Bajo (The Gambia) Mohamed Souare-(Guinea) Augustino (South Sudan) Manuel Lopes Nascimento (Guinea Bissau) Jafaar (Libya) Vincent Nzamwita (Rwanda) Ravia Idarus Fahinda (Zanzibar) Jamal Malinzi (Tanzania) Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria) Augustin Senghor (Senegal) Reverien Ndikuriyo (Burundi) Kossi Akpovy (Togo) Tourqui Salim (Comoros) Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia) Mutasim Gafaar Sirelkhatim (Sudan)

Mclean Letshwiti (Botswana) Edouard Ngaissona (Central Africa Republic) Mahamoud Moctar (Chad) Souleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti) Jean Michel Mbono (Congo) Domingos Monteiro (Sao Tome e Principe) Omari Constant Selemani (DR Congo) Augustin Sidy Diallo (Cote d’Ivoire) Boubacar Diarra (Mali) Hany Abo Rida (Egypt) Elvis Chetty (Seychelles) Juneidi Tilmo (Ethiopia) Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana) Salemane Phafane (Lesotho) Ahmad Ahmad (Madagascar) Walter Nyamilandu (Malawi) Mohamed Ally Samir Sobha (Mauritius) Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco) Alberto Junior (Mozambique) Frans Mbidi (Namibia) Melvin Amaju Pinnick (Nigeria) Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone) Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso) Danny Jordaan (South Africa) Adam Mthethwa (Swaziland) Musa Bility (Liberia) Wadie Jary (Tunisia) Moses Magogo (Uganda) Andrew Kamanga (Zambia) Phillip Chiyangwa (Zimbabwe) Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)
Nicholas Mwendwa Kithuku Artur de Almeida (Angola)

Tongai Mwenje

Tongai Mwenje is a Senior Editor with Zimbabwe's largest online sports magazine Sportbrief He has been writing professionally since 2012 and currently writes for technology and sport blogs. He has vast experience in digital marketing, sports reporting and analysis. He is also a Sports and Technology columnist with Financial Gazette Online Sports Column and Technology Magazine respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *